Our History

The National Union of Presbyterian Students – Ghana (NUPS-G) is a union of Presbyterian students in post basic institutions – Universities, Colleges of Education, Senior High Schools, Nursing Training Colleges, Polytechnics, and other Diploma awarding Institutions in Ghana.

The National Union of Presbyterian Students – Ghana (NUPS-G) which now has a membership of over ten-thousand (10,000) students nationwide began at the Akuafo Hall Chapel of the University of Ghana on November 22, 1959 with thirty-nine (39) members. Her inaugural ceremony was held at the Legon Hall on February 28, 1960. The Chairman was Rev. W. S. Robertson of the University of Ghana. Present were the Moderators of the Two Presbyterian churches; the Presbyterian Church of Ghana (PCG) and Evangelical Presbyterian Church of Ghana (EPCG). Also in attendance was Rev. A. L. Kwansa, the then Synod Clerk of the PCG.

The First Branch President (Legon) was the now Rev. E. S. Mate-Kodjo (later Synod Clerk of the PCG 1985-1995). Among the founding fathers of the Legon Union were Messrs Patrick Asare, Puplampu, S. A. Peprah, John Amponsah, O. K. Caesar, C. R. Garba and Kwame Poh. Others include P. V. Akoto, D. N. A. Nortey, Damalie, K. A. Ofosuhene and others with the late Rev. Prof. Emeritus C.G. Baete as Patron.

The National Union therefore attained 50 years in 2009 and it was celebrated as such.

The idea of NUPS-G then spread to other institutions and in 1962, the KNUST Branch was established.

The First National Conference in 1962 was held at the Commonwealth Hall of the University of Ghana. The Second National Conference was held at Winneba Training College in March 1963. It was attended by 26 delegates from the University of Ghana, 32 delegates from the host school and 2 each from the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology,  Techiman Training College (now Abetifi Training College, Abetifi-Kwahu), and the Krobo Training College, Odumase-Krobo.

The 1981 National Conference charged the UST Branch with the responsibility of reactivating dormant unions and establishing new unions. In effect the following unions were established: St. Monica’s Training College, Mampong which was inaugurated on 15th March 1986) Akrokerri Training College, St. Andrews College, Mampong; Wesley Training College, Kumasi; Advanced Technical Teachers College, Kumasi; Abetifi Secondary School; Sunyani Secondary School; and Sunyani Technical School.

Already existing unions that were revived were the Kumasi NTC and Kumasi Polytechnic.

The KNUST Branch as at 1962 through 1966 was called the Presbyterian Students’ Union (PSU), KNUST Branch. It was later known as the UST PSU Branch and the UST NUPS-G Branch between 1966 - 1998.

The current name, the NUPS-G KNUST has been in effect since 1998.

The UST NUPS-G had a retreat with the UST MSU (Methodist Students’ Union), now GHAMSU, in December 1987 and a joint service with the MSU on 11th February, 1988. A Union of the two churches was later to become the Presbyterian and Methodist Students' Union (PMSU) KNUST. The KNUST PMSU ceased to exist in May 2008 as the two Unions now stand separately.

One major activity NUPS-G has organized is the Students-In-Church-Evangelism (SICE); now Presbyterian-Students-In Church-Evangelism (P-SICE). This has afforded members of the Union the opportunity to share the gospel of Christ with many people in the country, especially those in deprived areas. An assessment of the program has shown that it has been held in almost every part of the country. The first of its kind was held in 1986 in the Anum Congregation. Other centres in the years past have been Asamankese (1987, 88, 89), Salaga (1989), Nsawam (1989), Bodada (1990), New Tafo (1990, 92), Kwahu Tafo ( 1990) and the  Nzema Mission Field (1994). More recently, NUPS-G KNUST held P-SICE at the Akyem-Abuakwa (2009, 2010), Asante Akyem (2011), and Sekyere (2011) Presbyteries. Activities of the P-SICE
programme include revivals, witnessing, crusades, healing, deliverance and counselling sessions, donations and medical outreaches.

The Union has also contributed to the University Community in imparting discipline, godliness and Christian values to her members and has also contributed as a member denomination of the Students' Chaplaincy Council to champion the Unity of the Church on campus.

NUPS-G KNUST held the National Seat between 2004 to 2006 with Mr. Samuel Opare as National President.

NUPS-G KNUST celebrated her 50th Anniversary during a year long period from September 2011 to March 2012.

The 50th Anniversary coincided with the return of the National Seat and the National Executive Committee to KNUST.

The current church membership stands at over 1500 members.

The Online Quiz is Over and is not available till Sunday!
Related Links


All Rights Reserved
NUPS-G KNUST Website Committee 2008 - 2021